Skip to main content
All About

Turkeyen Campus

The University of Guyana (UG) was established on October 1, 1963 following assent being given to the University of Guyana Ordinance on April 18, 1963, by Governor, Sir Ralph Grey.

When it opened its doors on October 2, 1963, UG functioned as an evening institution with only 164 students enrolled for classes in three Faculties – Arts, Natural Sciences and Social Sciences. Classes were held between 17:30 h and 21:30 h at the Government Technical Institute and Queen‟s College where laboratory facilities could be shared.