The School

The School of Earth and Environmental Sciences was approved on 22nd February, 2005 in recognition of the shared expertise, analytical techniques and complementarities that existed between the Department of Geography, Faculty of Arts and the Environmental Studies Unit, Faculty of Natural Sciences. It is the expectation that the merger will allow students specializing in the field sciences to benefit from a broader foundation and the rationalization of overlapping programmes. The School has an Advisory Board whose members are drawn from Governmental, non-governmental, regional, and international organisations and from the academic community. The function of the Advisory Board is to enhance the capacity of the School for taking measures to achieve its objectives.